Scott County Indiana History


Scott County became a county from the surrounding counties of Clark, Jefferson, Washington, Jackson, and Jennings. Named for Kentucky Governor, General Charles Scott of the Revolutionary War.

Lexington was the county seat

First Census for Scott County includes a pottery & distillery

Kibbey’s Road, now called Lexington-Sale State Road is built

Special election for the first county officials was held in February; James Ward, clerk; John Prime, recorder; Jabez Reeve and Edward Tucker, associate judges; Samuel Rankin, surveyor; and James Loughran, treasurer, County commissioners elected at the special election were Joseph Switzer, Reuben Johnson, and John Harrod

Three civil townships: Lexington, Vienna, and Jennings

First marriage in the county. William Nation and Sarah Allhands of Jennings Township, united in marriage by Aaron Jennings, Justice of the Peace

Contract for building the jail went to James Goodhue and Epaphroditus Northam for $1,712. The courthouse was to be located exactly in the center of the town square. Jail to be 70 feet from the southeast corner of said square